top of page

Sniffing for Goblins


Last weekend I went on my first road trip! It was so exciting. I was really nervous at first, I didn't know what was going on. My family just started packing everything up and putting it in the truck. I made sure to be in there way at all times so they wouldn't forget to bring me wherever they were going. We finally got into the car. Conner drove and I sat on Korinne's lap the whole time. I love car rides, they put me to sleep, but this one was super long.

The car finally stopped after driving in the dark and making a few potty stops. We were all by ourselves and I didn't have to wear my leash. My family set up their tent and put sleeping bags and blankets in them. I didn't understand what was going on. We were in a new place with lots of room for frisbee and tug o war. They tried to make me lay down in the tent and kept telling me it was time for bed, but I was just stuck in the truck for hours and wanted to do nothing but play. I tried and tried to get them to play with me, but I got in trouble. I finally gave up and curled into my ball in-between them to go to bed. Korinne wasn't happy that night. She kept saying she was freezing. They kicked me out of my spot so that they could cuddle up next to each other, so I just curled up with Korinne. She still wasn't very happy the rest of the night or in the morning.

Conner woke up super early and got really excited about the sunrise. Korinne warmed up in the truck while we played frisbee. I could get used to life like this. Once Korinne warmed up we drove to a new place called Goblin Valley, where we went for a hike! We hiked all the way to this cave called the Goblins Lair. It was a little hard for me to get into it, so Korinne and Conner had to help me down on a few spots. They went deeper into the cave and I didn't like it at all. I kept telling them to get out of it. We finally got out of that place and kept hiking. We met another dog that played with me for a while, but she got tired and couldn't keep up. I'll never be that way. We came to a place with all these weird rocks they were calling Goblins. I didn't see any Goblins out there, sometimes people are weird. I chased Conner and Korinne all around the rock Goblins for a while and finally made it back to the truck. We drove to get burgers, but they didn't give me any, I always get stuck with my usual boring food. Finally, we drove back to the same place we slept the night before. Korinne played frisbee with me more while Conner made a scary hot thing called fire. I didn't like it, but I stayed close to my people to make sure the fire didn't get them. When Conner got up to do something I stole his chair and I started liking fire a little bit more. I was nice and warm and comfy. I even started falling asleep a little until Conner kicked me off his chair. That was the end of the night and we went back into the tent to sleep. Korinne slept much better and was much happier that night.

It was another good morning! We played lots of frisbee and explored all day. We got packed up, got in the truck, and I saw cows! Stupid window wouldn't let me chase them, and they didn't even move no matter how much I yelled at them. Korinne and Conner stared at a wall for a while. They said they were looking at petroglyphs, but all I saw was a really big rock. I was pretty bored. We finally got back in the truck and it started getting really bumpy. I didn't like it at all. The car is supposed to be my place to sleep, how am I supposed to sleep when I'm being thrown around the truck. Grrr. I finally gave up trying to be in Korinne's lap and hid at her feet, trying to get under the seat as much as I could. It was a very long time going on the bumpy road. Conner and Korinne seemed to really like it. They talked about how pretty the San Rafael Swell Red Canyons drive was. We only saw one other group of people. They were lost and Conner had to help them find their way. I just followed their kid around and stretched my legs, then back in the truck. When it seemed as though this was never going to end we got back onto the good road again. I crawled back into Korinne's lap and slept happily the whole drive home. It was a very fun trip, but I don't like bumpy roads.

Here are more pictures from our trip.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page